Department of Sociology Faculty

From both local and global vantage points, our faculty provide students with a broad foundation in theory and methods of sociological research.


Sun-Ki Chai

Professor, Graduate Chair
Office: Saunders 237
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7234
Email: sunki@hawaii.edu
Social Computing, Identity and Behavior

Jennifer Darrah

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 235
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7950
Email: jdarrah@hawaii.edu
Race/Ethnicity, Urban and Community Sociology

Katherine Irwin

Professor
Office: Saunders 238
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7257
Email: kirwin@hawaii.edu
Criminology, Intersecting Inequalities, Youth

David Johnson

Professor
Office: Saunders 217
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8462
Email: davidjoh@hawaii.edu
Criminology, Law & Society, Japan

Aya Kimura

Professor, Undergraduate Chair
Office: Saunders 214
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2706
Email: kimuraa@hawaii.edu
Agrofood, Technoscience, Gender, Asia

Yean Ju Lee

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 216
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7116
Email: yjlee@hawaii.edu
Families in East Asia, Gender Roles, Aging

Le Lin

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 212
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8451
Email: lelin@hawaii.edu
Organizations, Economic Sociology, China

Krysia Mossakowski

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 215
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8416
Email: krysiam@hawaii.edu
Medical Sociology, Stress and Mental Health

Ashley Rubin

Assistant Professor
Faculty duties begin in Fall 2019
Law, Punishment, Organizations, Methods

Nandita Sharma

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 205
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8438
Email: nsharma@hawaii.edu
Migration, Nationalism, Racism, State Power

Manfred B. Steger

Professor
Office: Saunders 236
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7117
Email: manfred@hawaii.edu
Globalization, Social Theory, Pol. Sociology

Wei Zhang

Professor, Department Chair
Office: Saunders 239
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7689
Email: weizhang@hawaii.edu
Medical Sociology, Aging/Health, Res. Methods


Retired and Emeritus Faculty

Patricia Steinhoff

Professor, Retired
Office: Saunders 240
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7676
Email: steinhof@hawaii.edu
Japanese Radical Left, Social Movements

Hagen Koo

Professor Emeritus
Email: hagenkoo@hawaii.edu
Social Inequality, Sociology of East Asia